Latest News‎ > ‎

PBIS Student Committee Moving Forward

posted Dec 11, 2015, 7:40 AM by School Publications   [ updated Dec 11, 2015, 7:42 AM ]
        On Wednesday, December 9th Brownstown’s first PBIS student committee held their largest meeting to date.  The committee is made up of two students from each grade level. Members include seniors Addison Cage and Andrew Koonce; juniors Chloe Carson and Seth Powell;  sophomores Sammy Long and Caitlyn Mason; freshmen Kaylee Rush and Lane Himes; eighth graders Elizabeth Austin and Anthony Streeter; and seventh graders Caitlyn Rogers and Casey Payne.  The association of students took their first large leap towards improving the school as well as the student body.  

One of the topics for discussion was the new breakfast menu being served at the high school. They went over different ways to help improve the system, due to comments made by fellow students and are still searching for reasonable solutions.  Another topic was how to help prevent bullying within the building.  The team of students decided to join an anti-bullying organization called SFTS, Stand For The Silent.  Members Addison, Andrew, Kaylee, and Elizabeth were elected as President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer respectively, for Brownstown's branch of the organization.  Each member and sponsor hopes that the rest of the student body will choose to follow the example the student committee sets for BHS.

by Seth Powell